LSU’s Eason, Loyola’s Hollowell earn high LSWA males’s basketball honors – Crescent Metropolis Sports activities

LAFAYETTE – One in all school basketball’s high bench gamers alongside the state’s first males’s nationwide championship coach since 1961 reeled in high honors as LSU’s Tari Eason and Stacy Hollowell of Loyola highlighted the 2022 All-Louisiana Males’s School Basketball Crew, launched on Wednesday by the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation (LSWA).

The 18-member crew was nominated by the state’s Males’s Basketball sports activities data administrators and chosen by a statewide panel of SIDs and media members.

Eason, a sophomore from Los Angeles, Calif., Was named as each the LSWA’s Participant of the Yr and Newcomer of the Yr after ending as one of many high gamers within the SEC. The switch from Cincinnati got here off the bench in 29 of LSU’s 33 video games he performed in through the 2021-22 season and averaged 16.9 factors and 6.6 rebounds.

The SEC’s Sixth Man of the Yr and first-team All-SEC decide, Eason earned Third-Crew All-America honors by Sports activities Illustrated and was an honorable point out All-America recipient by the Related Press.

Eason reached double figures in scoring in 29 video games through the season for LSU with 11 video games of 20 factors or extra. The 6-foot-8 ahead posted seven double doubles for the Tigers together with his 4 20-point, 10-rebounds video games probably the most by an LSU participant in a single season for the reason that 2015 season.

A semifinalist for the Naismith Defensive Participant of the Yr, Eason had 11 video games of three steals or extra through the season with two video games of five-plus. Eason completed sixth within the SEC in scoring, was ninth in rebounds, fourth in FG share, seventh in FT share, T4 in steals, ninth in blocks common and ninth in offensive rebound common (2.27).

Hollowell, the LSWA Coach of the Yr, led a high-octane Loyola squad to a program-record 37 wins through the season which was capped by the varsity’s first nationwide title on the hardwood since 1945. Main the Wolf Pack to the primary nationwide crown by a males’s state program since Grambling in 1961, Hollowell was the NAIA Nationwide Coach of the Yr, the NABC Coach of the Yr (NAIA), SSAC Coach of the Yr and Don Meyer Award winner.

Beneath Hollowell’s steerage, Loyola entered the NAIA Event as the general No. 1 general seed and produced 16 wins in opposition to groups that reached a Prime 25 NAIA rating through the season.

His crew led the nation in scoring, placing up a program-high of three,395 factors in 38 video games, a mean of 89.3 factors per recreation, whereas outscoring opponents by almost 21 factors a contest. The Wolf Pack ranked first within the NAIA in steals (13.7 per recreation) and was second nationally in assists (19.7) and offensive rebounds (15.6) per contest.

LSU’s Brandon Murray capped off the specialty awards as he was named the state’s Freshman of the Yr. The Baltimore, Md., Native, averaged 10.0 factors, 3.0 rebounds and 1.9 assists in serving to lead LSU to a 22-12 report and 9-9 mark in SEC play.

The All-SEC Freshman Crew member was one of many high gamers within the SEC in minutes performed and had 16 video games of scoring double figures. Murray scored a season-high 21 factors in opposition to Texas A&M and added 19 and 17 factors in video games in opposition to Alabama.

Murray hauled in a season-high seven rebounds in opposition to Liberty and notched 4 video games of 5 assists or extra, together with 9 in opposition to Missouri within the SEC Event.

Eason was joined on the primary crew by Louisiana’s Jordan Brown, Kenneth Lofton, Jr., of Louisiana Tech, Ty Gordon of Nicholls and Loyola’s Zach Wrightsil. Named to the second crew was Kae’Ron Baker of Louisiana Christian (previously Louisiana School), Kendal Coleman of Northwestern State, Tulane’s Jalen Prepare dinner, Darius Days of LSU and Troy Inexperienced of New Orleans.

Myles Burns of Loyola was named to the LSWA third crew and was joined by Jaylen Forbes of Tulane, Jalyn Hinton of Southeastern, ULM’s Andre Jones and Derek St. Hilaire of New Orleans. Three gamers – SLU’s Gus Okafor, Makye Richard of Xavier and LSU Shreveport’s Leondre Washington – have been honorable point out alternatives.

For extra data on the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation, go to the official web site at

Chosen by the Louisiana Sports activities Writers Affiliation (LSWA)

Tari Eason, LSU – SEC Sixth Man of the Yr, All-SEC First Crew, AP Honorable Point out All-America
Jordan Brown, Louisiana – Second Crew All-SBC, First-Crew NABC All-District
Kenneth Lofton, Jr., Louisiana Tech – First Crew All-Convention USA, First-Crew NABC All-District
Ty Gordon, Nicholls – SLC Participant of the Yr, Lou Henson All-America Crew
Zach Wrightsil, Loyola – NAIA / NABC Nationwide Participant of the Yr, SSAC Participant of the Yr

Kae’Ron Baker, Louisiana Christian – NAIA Second Crew All-American, RRAC Participant of the Yr
Kendal Coleman, Northwestern State – First-Crew All-SLC, SLC All-Defensive Crew
Jalen Prepare dinner, Tulane – First-Crew All-AAC
Darius Days, LSU – All-SEC Second crew
Troy Inexperienced, New Orleans – First-Crew All-SLC

Myles Burns, Loyola – NAIA Nationwide Championship Event MVP, NAIA Second-Crew All-America
Jaylen Forbes, Tulane – Second-Crew All-ACC
Jalyn Hinton, Southeastern – SLC Defensive Participant of the Yr, Second-Crew All-SLC
Andre Jones, ULM – Third-Crew All-SBC
Derek St. Hilaire, New Orleans – First-Crew All-SLC, NABC All-District

Gus Okafor, Southeastern; Makye Richard, Xavier; Leondre Washington, LSU Shreveport

Participant of the Yr – Tari Eason, LSU
Newcomer of the Yr – Tari Eason, LSU
Freshman of the Yr – Brandon Murray, LSU
Coach of the Yr – Stacy Hollowell, Loyola

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: